MUHBA - Plaça del Rei

Add to favorites

Updated: 11/17/2023

Plaça del Rei, s/n
08001 Barcelona



Barcelona Film Commission
(+34) 93 454 80 66

MUHBA Pl. del Rei - Casa Padellàs, the location of the Museu d’Història de Barcelona, was originally built in the 14th century and subsequently refurbished in the 15th and 16th centuries. It was moved from Carrer Mercaders to the Plaça del Rei during the 1930s. When the foundations of the building were being laid, archaeological remains from Barcelona’s ancient Roman colony were discovered.

Inaugurated in 1370, the Saló del Tinell was the Main Hall in the Palau Reial (Royal Palace). The royal architect Guillem Carbonell was commissioned by King Peter IV the Ceremonious (of Aragon) to build this magnificent Gothic hall, which has witnessed important episodes in our history. Solemn royal ceremonies have been held and messengers, ambassadors, members of parliament and advisors have all been received.

The Casa Padellàs dates back to the first half of the 14th century. It is a refurbished Gothic building which was refurbished with a Renaissance decoration style at the beginning of the 16th century. The patio has been conserved, with its noble staircase and Gothic gallery, Renaissance decoration with family heraldry on the doors and windows, and its upper arcade. The galleries provide unique views of the Barri Gòtic (Gothic Quarter) and its buildings.

Casa Padellàs’ ground floor yard is a secluded and charming part of the building, suitable for small functions, with the possibility of including a visit to the museum’s basement.

The Museu d'Història de Barcelona’s Sala de Martí l'Humà Hall is located in the upper part of the Palau Reial Major’s Antechamber. The Saló del Tinell room and the Chapel de Santa Ágata chapel are located beneath this hall. The hall is adapted for working-days or sessions in various formats.